What Comes Next

In the time that once was between the moments we had and those we have yet to create I used to look at Ann and feel like time had stopped. It would be inaccurate to say that it had never happened before because it had. Yet it had never been as consistent as it was with Ann.

I always felt that no matter how old we were she would always look like the girl I had fallen in love with. And now a good many years later I can say it is true. She still looks just like the girl I remember, but she is a woman that I no longer know. Well, that is not entirely true. I know an awful lot about her and though much time has passed I feel the connection between us the same way that I always have.

“You have that look on your face again?”

“Whatever do you mean? My dear woman, I do believe that you need to get your eyes checked. My look hasn’t changed. No plastic surgeon has touched my head. Not my nose, my ears or my chin. Correction, my nose was fixed. I broke it decades ago and had surgery on it. Lucky for me I broke it twice more so who knows what it looks like now.”

“Mister, time might have passed but I still know your little word games. You are feeling clever. A guy gets lucky and suddenly there is this attitude. How do you know that this isn’t a one time thing. Maybe I just felt horny.”

I laughed and kissed her face.

“You are testing me. I know you. You are a planner. I won’t say that you intended for this to happen but I’ll put money down that you took extra time shaving your legs this morning and that you changed your outfit twice.”

She smiled but didn’t say anything.

“See, your silence proves I am right…again.”

I tickled her, she giggled and tried to squirm away. I let her get away and then felt her move back against me. Her body fit against mine perfectly and I made a point not to get lost in memories of what was or to focus on what might be.

Just as I thought she was falling asleep I felt her wiggle a bit. “Give me time, I am old now.” She wiggled some more, pushed me onto my back and climbed on top of me.

I looked up at her and smiled. “The shades are open. Looks like someone is going to get a show.” She put a finger on my lips.

I saluted, “Yes Ma’am!”

A short time later I heard her close the bathroom door and then I drifted off to sleep. When I woke up I was a bit disoriented. I wondered if it had all been a dream. I rolled over and found an empty bed.

I sat up and looked around. The sun was beginning to set and the room was starting to grow dark. Maybe it had been a dream. I got out of bed and found my clothes piled on the chair, looked around a bit but didn’t see a note.

Wandered over to the shower, turned it on and climbed in. I wondered if Miss Manners had any advice for this sort of situation. I knew that she lived relatively close to the hotel, but I didn’t want to just show up at her house.

Could make for an interesting situation if one of her girls answered the door.

“Excuse me, I am the reason mom came home with such a big smile on her face.”

Yeah, that is exactly the kind of thing a child wants to hear about their parent. On the other hand I made a note to tell Ann that she is the sexiest mother I know. Now I just need to do it in a way that isn’t cheesy or awkward.

Still, I was a bit concerned that she had just taken off. It wasn’t like her to leave like that, or at least it wouldn’t have been. She could be different now or maybe something came up.

I finished showering and dried off. As I bent over to put on my pants the door opened and a familiar voice said, “that is not your best side, but it is cute.”

I turned around and there she was watching me.

“Did you enjoy the show?”

She nodded her head and kissed me.

“I suppose we ought to talk about what comes next.”

She didn’t give me the deer in the headlights look but I did see something flash in her eyes. I hadn’t really meant to say that. I didn’t want to apply any pressure. It just slipped out, but when you are so comfortable with someone else things like that can happen.

“Forget I just said that. Let’s talk about dinner. Can I take you out or do you need to go home?

Later on I would look back at that moment and realize that I had given up my roots. Los Angeles would always be home, but I was ready and willing to live anywhere. It was time to change things up and I was cool with that.

“The girls aren’t home tonight so I am free to whatever I want.”

I nodded my head and smiled again. We walked out of the room holding hands. Food was a priority, but I was pretty certain that by the end of the meal we would know something about what was coming next.

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

