Georgie

(Editor’s Note: Several people asked me to share more of this story. So here is another piece)

I wanted to blame the jackass at the ATM for bringing this shit storm down upon my head. If he hadn’t tried to rob us all, the girl he shot would still be alive and I wouldn’t feel so miserable.

Then again she might still be alive if I hadn’t reacted like the frightened little boy I had been and maybe still was. If Georgie hadn’t spent years tormenting me, picking, poking and prodding me, she might still be walking.

Maybe if I would have learned how to deal with the bullying I could have stopped myself from just reacting.

Goddamn Georgie, he was dead too. Gone for years and still I could hear him mocking me, feel his presence.

They say sometimes the absence of someone is palpable. The only thing palpable about Georgie’s presence was that even in death he still walked alongside me.

She was dead because Georgie had proven to me that I was weak and  lacking in value and worth. Really it was my fault.

The first time Georgie beat me I was scared. I didn’t defend myself. I didn’t try to, I just let him kick and punch me. And when he stopped I looked at him through teary eyes, not sure what to expect. He gave me a handkerchief and stuck out a hand to help me up.

I was wiping the blood off of my face when he hit me again. I didn’t see it coming and when I came to I was lying in the dirt and he was gone, as were three of my teeth. Georgie didn’t believe in giving or accepting help, to him it was sign of weakness and he couldn’t have that.

Georgie’s influence was profound in the worst way. He claims he saw potential and did nothing more than tap into it.

Georgie made me mean the way you prepare a pit-bull to be a fighter. Stick glass in his food, kick him, beat him and do what you can to make him feel battered and bruised. Place the animal in a position that makes it feel like it is never safe and never secure.

The funny thing about my relationship with Georgie was the way we looked together. Georgie was only about 5’7 or 5’8 and he couldn’t have weighed more than 165 pounds or so.

I was almost 6’4 and weighed a solid 230 pounds. If you looked at us you would have never guessed that for years I had been scared of Georgie, afraid in a very real and tangible sense. And he knew it, he could smell it in my sweat, or so he claimed.

I can’t explain what it was about him that frightened me so, I just know he did. It might have had something to do with the time he beat David Jackman with a tire iron, or the time that he beat the shopkeeper up for insulting him by asking for proof of his age. He was like a mini-volcano, ready to blow at any time and unpredictable.

In some ways my size had put me at a disadvantage. I had always been bigger than everyone else. In school the bullies had avoided me as had most of the other kids.

The end result was because I never had any fights I was afraid of what would happen, worried that I could get hurt and quite concerned about what a fist to the mouth would feel like.

Georgie never had those fears and I don’t know why. He came from a middle class home. Georgie’s father never hit him, never used any sort of physical threat to control him, so who knows why he turned out as he did.

Psychologists and social workers get paid a lot of money to improperly diagnose people like Georgie. I won’t waste my time trying to do their job, and who cares what made him the way he was. The more important question was how to stay on his good side because he was mean and proud of it.

Georgie bragged about the fights he got into, showed off his scars and told stories of the past hurts and battles like they had just happened. The chip on his shoulder was never very far from his present.

We must have been around 20 or so when Georgie decided to teach me his life lessons. I was shocked and confused. I couldn’t believe that he was hitting and kicking me and then I was too bloodied and bruised to do anything but curl up on the floor and try to protect myself.

If I had any sense he beat it out of me there because the smart thing would have been to just walk away and not speak with him again. I should have fought back, the lack of resistance only encouraged him to continue to batter me longer and harder.

This went on for a couple of years, maybe a little more, maybe a little less. It would probably still be going on if not for the accident.

It was a Saturday morning. Georgie showed up at my apartment at around 9 am, sat there kicking and yelling at my door. When I answered it he told me to get dressed, we were going out.

I threw on a pair of jeans, some Timberland boots, flannel shirt and topped it off with a baseball cap turned backwards and followed him to his car. We were heading into the mountains to “see someone.”

That was bad news for someone. Any time Georgie said he wanted to “see someone” it meant that he wanted to see them bleeding, preferably because of him. I didn’t bother to ask who or why, it wouldn’t matter and it wouldn’t change anything. Georgie would do what he did just because and that was the fact of the matter.

Categories: Yeah Write | 49 Comments

Post navigation

49 thoughts on “Georgie

  1. Ah, nice background from your previous story. But why is the narrator going places with georgie at the end? BOOOOOO HISSSSS

  2. Yes, what is the draw there?!! Nice job of making Georgie so loathsome!

  3. ew i don’t like this Georgie.

  4. Ahhhhh, now I have to go and read the other one. I was so worried that this was non-fiction. I feel like punching Georgie in his face. Luckily I can’t.

    • TheJackB

      Georgie is a bad guy to challenge. He never walked away from a fight…ever. Better to fight and lose than not fight.

  5. I’m glad your narrator addresses Georgie’s psychological issues by not addressing him, because I was all “What’s UP with this dude” at that point. I’m still unsure why the narrator wants to be with him. And cringing from the knocked out teeth…

    • TheJackB

      Even bad people can be “blessed” with the sort of charisma that makes you want to spend time with them when you really shouldn’t.

  6. Georgie is such a jerk. Sadly, I knew people who were very good at psychological warfare in my youth. Luckily, I grew up and out of those relationships. I wonder what the narrator will do next.

  7. Fictional Georgie needs to get his come-uppance.

  8. If this new piece of the story was supposed to satisfy a craving, it did just the opposite! Why are these two together in the first place? What were the circumstances of their meeting/getting to know one another. Why does the narrator keep going back. I’m going to need more story here, thank you very much! Well done.

    • TheJackB

      I have good news and bad news. I have answers to most, if not all of your questions but you are going to have to read a bit more to get them.

  9. I had to go back and read the previous version to find out the beginning! Well done.

  10. I loved all the background about Georgie, but I’m still wondering about the resolution of the initial story, “the beginning of the end.” Will there be a part 3? I want to know how it ends.

  11. Gina

    I, too, love the back knowledge about Georgie but there’s more to the story. Why did the character go with him and what happened in those mountains? You’ll have to provide multiple sequels here, Jack!

  12. Great story, the basis for a novel maybe?

  13. Now I need to know why Georgie kicks the bucket. Someone giving him a “cutesy” name and small in stature makes him all the more menacing. I too want to know more about what drew your protagonist into the relationship with Georgie. It almost seems like battered wife syndrome between friends…

    • TheJackB

      Well guys like Georgie tend to fall into two categories, those who die of old age and those who just die.

  14. This is a fascinating series. I did wonder if the woman who got shot died at the end of the last one, and I’m glad to see the story continue. I can’t wait to find out about the accident next week.

    • TheJackB

      That poor lady was in the wrong place at the wrong time. There is more to her story, but that is not necessarily ready to be shared yet.

  15. I’m so glad you wrote more of this story. I was wondering if we would get to learn more about Georgie. Love this.

  16. Great character development. It adds more to what we learned of the characters last week.

  17. I second the call for a Part 3. Georgie is an unlikable character, but you’ve done a great job of making him compelling in spite of it. Can’t wait to read more (I hope).

  18. Wow. This was a great read. These are not real people?

  19. Wonderful, wonderful piece of writing. I was so pulled in I had to go read the second post before I could even say anything about this one. I hate not having anything intelligent to say except, “You yanked me into this story and dragged me through it,” but…yeah, that’s what you did. Kudos.

  20. Wow, this was disturbing and really well done! Violence makes me so sad, but I had to keep reading. You really fleshed out Georgie and it was riveting.

    • TheJackB

      Violence is sad, but sometimes it makes for good fodder for a story so here we are.

  21. 2old2tap

    I went back to read the other. Like this a lot. Can’t wait to see what’s next.

  22. Da-yum. This is good stuff. I want more; that’s the highest compliment that I do want more. Georgie needs something; not sure what, but something.

  23. Pingback: Georgie

  24. Now I need to go back and read!

  25. Pingback: Barry Manilow Could Be A Blogger

  26. Pingback: Rhythm and Flow - The JackB

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

