The Search For Absolution Part 3

Part one is over here and two is here.

The months passed by and slowly I began to forget about the man in black and his tale. Intrigue only lasts for so long and even though his story had done a better job of capturing my imagination than most I stopped thinking about it

Absence makes the heart grow fonder had no bearing in our relationship, this guy had been a good customer and nothing more.

And then one day he showed back up and I found out that I was 100 percent wrong about not being curious any more.

I don’t know what shocked me more, seeing him pop up out of the blue or the realization that I wanted to know where he had been and what he had been doing.

+++++

He tilted back his beer, took a long swig and then said he got a job out of state. I nodded my head and waited for him to continue but he didn’t, just sat there staring off into space.

“Same city as her. Can’t remember the last time we were in the same place.”

Since he opened the door I decided to walk right in and asked if he had spoken with her because if he had ended up in the same city surely that must have been enough reason to contact her.

“Nope, I didn’t. She knew I was there and she didn’t try to contact me so I figured I would leave her alone. She knows how to reach me.”

And then for the third time since I had known the guy I broke my rule and told him what I thought he should have done.

“You only get so many chances in life to be with someone special. Why wouldn’t you take a chance. How do you know she wasn’t waiting for you to call?”

He smiled and said he didn’t but said that it was coincidence that he ended up in the same city.

“If it is meant to be, well I suppose we’ll just find our way.”

I asked him what that meant and he just smiled.

“Got a flight back tomorrow. I live there now. If she wants to find me she knows how and if she doesn’t, well I am not wasting any ones time am I.

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

