Goodbye?

I remember holdin’ on to you
All them long and lonely nights I put you through
Somewhere in there I’m sure I made you cry
But I can’t remember if we said goodbye

But I recall all of them nights down in Mexico
One place I may never go in my life again
Was I just off somewhere or just too high
But I can’t remember if we said goodbye

I only miss you every now and then
Like the soft breeze blowin’ up from the Caribbean
Most Novembers I break down and cry
Cause I can’t remember if we said goodbye

But I recall all of them nights down in Mexico
One place I will never go in my life again
Was I just off somewhere or just too high
But I can’t remember if we said goodbye
No I can’t remember if we said goodbye
Goodbye goodbye

 

A quick hit and run at 1:30 AM

 

I heard the bells go off Sunday night but unlike past times we were together. We were wrapped in each others arms and and doing nothing more than just holding each other in the quiet of the early evening.

Your head was on my shoulder, your hand lazily rubbing my arms and my nose was nuzzling your neck. The bells went off and we lifted our heads up long enough to kiss each other. A quick kiss., lightly on the lips but light doesn’t describe the power of that moment or what we felt.

Time stopped again and we found ourselves transported back to the kingdom we once roamed through together. The sun shone brightly and the gate to the castle beckoned towards us.

We held hands and walked towards the wall. Neither one of us asked how a place that had been empty for years suddenly looked like it had always been lived in. We stood in the entrance way and didn’t ask about the magic that clearly was present or wonder if we were dreaming.

For a brief moment there were no challenges or complications, there was only us and the possibilities that we had always dreamed of. For just a moment you turned off your mind and gave yourself to me, free of fear and worry about the things that could happen.

And for one moment in time we did more than remember, we felt what had been as it was and sensed what could be.

The bells rang, those chimes sweetly demanding that we dive deeper and look harder.

Submit, accept and enjoy, at least for that one moment in time because the bells said faith would be rewarded and it was.

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

