I Dared Her

I dared her to try to stop loving me and she asked me what I thought I was doing. I told her I didn’t really know and she asked me if it was wise to test her and I laughed.

Looked her in the eye and asked her to think about how we got to be where we are and who we are.

“Do you remember sitting in the car when I asked you if you still loved me?”

“Yeah, I do.”

“Think about what it took to do that, think about how hard it was for me to open up and take the chance of being rejected face-to-face and tell me if you could have done it. Tell me missy, you who claims you won’t say ‘I love you’ first’ if you would have taken the chance.”

I watched the wheels turn in her head and saw her eyes narrow and knew the ground wasn’t as stable as I might want it to be.

“Baby, I am not bragging or trying to pick on you. Not trying to bait you either. We all have our roles in relationships and for the time being this is mine. I am the guy with the gorilla arms that can hold on to the side of the cliff forever. This is where I come in and remind you that in some ways nothing has changed. This is where I say it is just blip and ask you to keep holding my hand because if you hold it I will support us both for as long as it takes.”

I saw her eyes soften and told her if she would let me I would do my best to be her rock and her hero, said I always wanted to be her knight. Reminded her she has always been my queen and then saw her shake her head.

“I don’t know how you do this to me.”

There was  a smile in her eyes and another stretched out across her face.

“I don’t know you do it to me either, I just know that you do and that you always have. One day I might have to write a story about it all.”

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

