And Every Time

And every time I thought about letting go I heard your voice and felt your heart calling so I turned around and saw you. And every time I saw you I fell in love with you again and remembered what it is that draws me to you.

There is a silent language we speak, one we aren’t always conscious of but it is there and it is part of the threads that bind us together. We are inextricably linked, family, best friends and lovers who haven’t begun to truly plumb the depths of what we can be.

All that we are and all that we know is based upon the tiniest fragments of the time we have shared. Moments that moved too quickly but lasted forever and proved to our heads what our hearts always knew.

And if you asked me to love you forever I would smile, take your hand in mine and tell you it is not even a question because some things just are.

And every time you told me it was too hard, too tough, too complicated or too whatever I would wrap you in my arms and whisper in your ear that sometimes we have to let go and just love. I could tell you that if you let me I would be your hero and that I would find a way but that it only partially true.

Because you are mine as much as I am yours and you are my air so what good am I without that.

Without my air I choke and though I keep going on I am less than I was and though I could rebuild I would rather heed the words of Rumi:

Gamble everything for love, if you’re a true human being.

I am a mortal man who follows his heart and listens to his gut because it is all I know how to do. And every time I think about those moments my heart is filled again and I remember how together we become more than when we are apart and how happiness isn’t enough to describe the potential of what we could be.

And every time I think of you I smile and remember that if we were trapped on an island together we would never need to be rescued because we would rescue each other.

Some people come into your life for a short while and some for far longer. You tire of some and others never wear our their welcome.

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

