I Can See Clearly…Mostly

The Passionate Shepherd to His Love

COME live with me and be my Love,
And we will all the pleasures prove
That hills and valleys, dale and field,
And all the craggy mountains yield.

There will we sit upon the rocks
And see the shepherds feed their flocks,
By shallow rivers, to whose falls
Melodious birds sing madrigals.

There will I make thee beds of roses
And a thousand fragrant posies,
A cap of flowers, and a kirtle
Embroider’d all with leaves of myrtle.

A gown made of the finest wool
Which from our pretty lambs we pull,
Fair linèd slippers for the cold,
With buckles of the purest gold.

A belt of straw and ivy buds
With coral clasps and amber studs:
And if these pleasures may thee move,
Come live with me and be my Love.

Thy silver dishes for thy meat
As precious as the gods do eat,
Shall on an ivory table be
Prepared each day for thee and me.

The shepherd swains shall dance and sing
For thy delight each May-morning:
If these delights thy mind may move,
Then live with me and be my Love.

I can’t explain what it is about you or what it is about me that makes us special. Can’t tell you what it is in a way that you can analyze in the traditional manner.

But what I can tell you is that together we are more than we are apart and that I know you feel my presence in a way you have felt no other and that I can say the same about you.

And you know my love is wild, fierce and relentless.

You know the ring of fire burns and the ache of separation. You know that together we define passion and separated we are the picture of tragedy.

Separately we are you and I but together become we.

The circle of time moves as it will and life throws options and opportunities our ways daring us to stand upon our ponies and reach for the rings that seem to be just out of reach.

And every time you have scorned me I have felt you dare me to push back, heard you call out and tell me you don’t want me to walk. I have felt your heart and heard your innermost thoughts, felt your fear and done all that could to protect you from that which you worry about.

You know how you feel in my arms and that there is no other place in which you feel so much and you know I say the same. The only chains that exist are those that are self imposed.

There is no prison that can hold our hearts. No walls that cannot be climbed or overcome and no stopping what was started.

The fire we lit continues to burn and even at its weakest the heat is indescribable. But every time I step into the flames I am not consumed and neither are you.

You don’t have to ask why nor wonder if that will ever change.

One day I won’t be found on the mountain tops chasing after my sheep. One day you won’t find me wandering through the woods because your hand will be in mine and time will stand still…again.

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

