A Hokey Piece That Needs To Be Redone

There is a song that is only sung when we are together, a beat, rhythm and harmony that is only felt when our bodies are touching.

Once I worried it was a song that could only be sung once, a moment never to be repeated and touch never to be felt again.

 

Anger, frustration and rage merged with sadness made me ache. I did so alone and apart, wondering how it could hurt so much and feel so empty.

These were hallways I had walked down before, rooms I had visited and doors that I had opened and closed.

 

And then in the silence I heard that sound that I thought I would never hear again. I closed my eyes and used only ears to guide me forward. Sometimes I stumbled over things and bumped into walls I couldn’t see but with every bump the sound grew louder and my heart pounded harder.

 

I don’t know how much time passed between the moments. There was music. There was silence and then there was music again.

I heard your voice and listened to you sing and then without thinking I raised my voice and together we sang our song again.

 

And ever since it has never been silent.

 

Touch makes us happier and our smiles broader, wider and stronger but our song never stops.

I hear it…always.

 

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

