Fire In The Evening

“And if the night is burning
I will cover my eyes
For if the dark returns then
My brothers will die
And as the sky’s falling down
It crashed into this lonely town
And with that shadow upon the ground
I hear my people screaming out

Now I see fire, inside the mountain
I see fire, burning the trees
I see fire, hollowing souls
I see fire, blood in the breeze

I see fire, oh you know I saw a city burning (fire)
I see fire, feel the heat upon my skin (fire)
And I see fire (fire)
And I see fire burn auburn on the mountain side”
“I See Fire- Ed Sheeran

We knew of the dragon that lived inside the mountains but we didn’t fear him because when you are young you are invincible.

The young don’t fear to waken the dragon because they have lived long enough to have overcome adversity and to have handled the challenges that have been presented before them.

Youthful naivete doesn’t help them recognize that some beasts are greater than others. Some are bigger, bolder and stronger and worthy of caution.

We ignored the warnings, didn’t heed the call of those who might have made us slow down and walk more carefully than we did. Instead we announced our intentions and headed straight for the thing that should have made us trimble. We should have recognized that some beasts are no different from the twisters that rage through Oklahoma.

Part of the problem was we felt like we had taken the necessary precautions to identify the dangers. We had consulted with Clark and heard nothing that made us truly worry because we overestimated our ability

Perhaps you can add some blame to the thrill of an adventure too. The chance to chase the forbidden fruit helped encourage taking a chance and so we set off.

With nary a glance behind nor concern about the visitors we would meet along the way we stepped out the door and headed for the mountains. And now countless hours later we stare at the fire that burns and recognize that some flames aren’t quenched in the traditional manner.

There is a certain beauty and majesty in the flames that can be felt from great distances. In our eagerness to experience it all we moved closer and stepped inside rings of flame and wondered if we had discovered something never seen before.

That was because the flames did not consume us. Instead of bursting into little flesh balls of kindling we danced inside and were amazed by the heat and the light that radiated from the flames.

Yet none of these things mattered to the dragon. It had no fear and no remorse.

It looked for the creatures that had stirred it from its slumbers and set upon them.

 

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

