What Dylan Said

You can use this as a reference.

He woke up to a face full of hair and smiled, last night wasn’t a dream. She felt him stir, reached for his arm and pulled it around her.

“You never get close enough, I am cold. Come here.”

“Yes, boss.”

“Took you long enough to figure that out, didn’t it.”

He heard the smile in her voice and didn’t give his usual response about how clever he was to make her think she was in charge and just squeezed her tight.

Closed his eyes, nuzzled her neck and then heard Bob Dylan singing.

He thought about telling her about how every time they were together he heard music and decided to save that conversation for a later day. This was the first time in years that they had real time together and he had no desire to rush the time for talking.

Not because he feared conversation but because the silent one they were in the midst of held its own sway and there was no need to spoil that particular moment.

They had finally found a moment in time that wasn’t a true moment and this time around he wanted to savor it.

****

A short while later he felt her slip out from under his arm and heard her walk to the bathroom. He pulled the pillow her head been on and took a long sniff and smiled because it smelled just like her.

When she came back she didn’t climb into bed.

“I am hungry, what is for breakfast?”

She saw the look in his eyes and laughed, “I want real food.”

He smiled back at her and asked her what she wanted to eat.

A short time later they sat on the patio eating scrambled eggs and some toast and enjoyed each other’s company some more.

“Baby, how do we always pick up where we left off? And why do you always ignore me when I tell you to go away. It makes no sense.”

“I haven’t had my coffee yet and you are asking me to do higher math. Not exactly fair is it. Can I plead the fifth?”

“No, you can’t and don’t give me one of your screwball answers.”

“It is why Dylan said about the times changing and being tangled up. I can’t ever explain this in a way that will satisfy scientists or the clergy because what I have to say straddles faith and physics. It is like that Einstein quote about trying to explain music as sound waves.”

He asked her if she was still hungry and offered to cook some more eggs but she shook her head no and he continued.

“You are the one person I have always truly operated off of some sort of instinct or feel. Don’t know how or why I just do. I don’t know what else to say other than I guess it worked.”

“You guess? I spent the night in your bed. How can you say you guess.”

“It sounded better than the Magic 8 Ball told me in 1998 that you and I would be married in 2021.”

“The Magic 8 Ball doesn’t give those kind of long responses. It gives short ones.”

“Damn, I forgot. If I told you it was as simple as you love me and I love you would that work?”

He was surprised when she smiled at him, kissed and hugged him. The more he knew about women the less he knew.

“What should we do today?”

“Whatever makes you happy, I am ready for anything.”

She smiled at him again and…

 

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

