I Am Not That Special

She looked me in the eye and told me she didn’t understand what I saw in her and said she wasn’t that special.

I smiled and told her if she was eager for me to agree I would and she made a face.

“Our strength lies in the trust between us. It stems from a well that neither one of us can see but every time we are together we drink from it. It feels too good to be true so we make excuses and pretend that something is wrong when we know damn well there isn’t.”

Somewhere during the thirty seconds it took for me to say those words she took my hand and I watched her lip quiver.

“Crying doesn’t make me feel better. I am not a girl who cries but you do this thing to me.”

She didn’t finish her thought, just looked at me and put her head on my shoulder.

“I always promised I would kiss the tears away and I always will. We are skeptical about so much. We both look for the angles because usually if it is too good to be true it is, but maybe we are the exception to the rule. Maybe we one kind of person by ourselves and another together.

Maybe we found the formula that only comes when you find the person whose voice you want to hear first thing in the morning and last thing in the evening. Maybe there is something more.”

I paused to make sure she heard what she was saying and because I felt completely naked.

“You know you are the person I want to spend moments with. We are not perfect separately or together but there is magic there and whenever we spend time together we see and feel it. That is worth fighting for. That is worth working for. That is worth living for.

I don’t know what I am saying or how I am saying it. I just know that when I think of you or am with you all this stuff and more comes out of me. I can’t remember a time before you and I don’t want to.”

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

