You’re The One That I Want

“You’re crazy, You weren’t really going to do that.”

He laughed and told her he might have.

“I don’t believe it. You never would have acted it out in my office.”

He laughed again and told her to never say never about him.

“I am exceptionally self-conscious about my singing and anything other than slow dancing or two stepping which is precisely why you shouldn’t say I would never do it.”

“That makes no sense. Why would you do it if you are so self-conscious?”

“Because if I thought I was going to miss out on something important because I was afraid I might embarrass myself I would get pissed off and that is enough for me to say ‘fuck it’ and go do it.”

She looked at him and asked if that meant that any time he got angry he would lose control and do whatever the hell he wanted.

“No, it doesn’t mean that at all. I am in control of myself but there are moments in life where you need to step outside of your comfort zone and take a risk. The biggest regrets I have in life have come when I was unwilling to do that and I never want to experience that again.”

He took her hand and led her to the couch.

She leaned back in his arms and asked him to tell her a story.

“What kind of story do you want to hear?”

“I want to hear about us, but I’ll be happy to hear any story you choose to tell. I like your stories.”

“Ok, let me tell you about two people who met in the most unusual way and how it led to the greatest adventue of their lives.”

Midway through she stopped and asked him if it had a happy ending and he said it did.

“How do you know it does?”

“Because I know things.”

“I hate when you say that. We can’t know for certain about almost anything.”

“No, we can’t but we do know if you never take a risk you never get the big reward. And we know what is in our hearts and that sometimes you have to take the long way home to get where you are going. But if you do it with your best friend it is not so bad.”

She told him she liked that part and he asked if she wanted to hear a different ending.

She said ok and he told her a version where when the girl said to go away the boy did and she never heard from again.

When the girl asked what happened to the boy he said the boy was killed while on safari by an angry hippo and since he was buried in Africa there were no obituaries for her to read so she never knew he was dead.

She said that was an awful story and that she didn’t like it.

He laughed and said, “I told you that you like stories about us forever better than the other versions.”

She told him he was a jerk and he just smiled at her and held out his hand.

She told him he wasn’t forgiven but when her fingers were intertwined in his he shook his head and silently reminded himself to pay attention to what she did and not what she said.

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

