The Poster

“Baby, what will our home look like? You know I don’t like ranch. I want something classic, with personality and taste.”

“Woman, haven’t you figured out that I am not kidding when I say I don’t care about much. You can decorate the house virtually any way you want it to be. I just want a couple of things to roll a certain way.”

“That is not an answer. I want details and I want a plan. I need more than generalities.”

He smiled, you know what I want and what I need. Do I really need to repeat it.”

Her eyes narrowed and she told him it was exhausting to have the same conversations over and over again.

He shook his head at her and rolled his eyes.

“Baby, you know better than to bring up this nonsense, but let’s get it out of the way. Do I want a lot of sex? Yes. Yes I do. I am not the man who pretends that because we are not in high school any more we don’t need to do it.

I find this to be funny because I know you want it as much or more as I do. But let’s get something straight, I don’t want it just to have it or with just anyone. I want it because it is you. Because you are just as sexy and beautiful now was you ever were, maybe even more so.”

He paused to let it sink in and watched her stare at him.

“Stop trying to evaluate what I said and figure out whether I mean it or not. You know I do and you know I love you. I don’t care that you don’t look like you are still in college. I don’t either and that is cool. We are so far beyond that now.

We have never been closer or more comfortable and that critical.”

She nodded her head and told him to keep talking.

“You know what, if I had to pick a theme for us, off the top of my head I would say it is John, Paul, George and Ringo.”

“What does that mean?”

“It means we could put a poster up that describes much about us.

“And in the end, the love you take is equal to the love you make.”

We haven’t ever had a problem in this area. We make more naturally than almost any couple I can think of.”

“Why would you qualify it? Why not say more?”

“I am just trying to be humble. But I do know for certain that if we were trapped for a month inside a closet or for years on an island we would be fine. We don’t get sick of each other. We like each other. It is not about lust, it is like. Ok, there might be some lust involved but there is a lot of like too.”

“If you live with me there better be a lot of lust too. You are not getting off that easily mister.”

He looked at the Cheshire cat grin across her face and smiled back.

“Decorate however you want, just give me an office and a small space for my gear and I am happy. The rest is all yours.”

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

