Working Backwards

Been working on a couple of the stories I have spooling around inside my melon and came up with the endings. Now all I have to do is write the beginning and the middle.

Ok, I might adjust the endings or I might not. Here is the roughest of the rough drafts of one of them.

She took his hand and thanked him for not paying attention to what she said.

“This might be some kind of record or need to be memorialized in some fashion. You just thanked me for ignoring you.”

She rolled her eyes.

“Don’t tarnish the moment by gloating.”

He laughed.

“I don’t gloat.”

“Oh yes, you do. I’ll never understand why you thought ignoring me was a smart thing to do, but it worked so maybe you do know something I don’t.”

“I know a lot of things you don’t and I always paid attention to whether your actions matched what you were saying. Sometimes they were diametrically opposed and that made me think I had nothing to lose and everything to gain.”

“But what if you had been wrong. You could have made me hate you.”

“I never worried about that. I figured if I was wrong, well I was wrong and I hadn’t lost anything. But if I was right, well then this house would be a lot more fun to live in than it had been and here we are.”

Or

“He packed up his truck and started driving. And for once he never looked backwards and he felt great. That part of life was behind him now the future was wide open.”

Or

“They watched him walk into the forest. He turned, smiled and waved goodbye. They never saw him again.”

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

