Parallel Orbits

She was morning, and I was night time
I one day woke up
To find her lying beside my bed
I softly said “Come take me”
For I’ve been lonely in need of someone
As though I’d done someone wrong somewhere
But I don’t know where, I don’t know where
Come lately
You are the sun, I am the moon
You are the words, I am the tune
Play me

Thought about writing Neil Diamond to ask if he’d help me have a real conversation.

In my head I explained it was a case of bad timing, circumstances and all of the craziness that comes with it.

Told him I needed his help in getting her attention long enough to have a real conversation, the kind that takes place face-to-face.

You know the one where you see their eyes and know you are being heard and they know you are listening.

In my head Neil asks some hard questions and asks me what I’d do if I got an answer I didn’t like.

“Neil, you know there are some loves that never end, they might be delayed or slowed down but they always come through.”

He looks at me and says he has heard stalkers say similar things. I thank him for the support and he starts singing Holly Holy.

I look at him and he smiles, when she hears this and sees the truth in your eyes you’ll find the right words.

“But Neil, what if I don’t. What if I stutter and or say something dumb. What if I forget who I am and why I am there?”

“Brother, I have been there. Had a moment with a long lost lady love in ’68 and I have never forgiven myself. But you won’t, you’ll figure it out and she’ll hear you. Just be honest. Any fool can see you love her, don’t worry about the words. Just speak and she’ll hear you, more importantly, she’ll see you.”

I thank him for his help, he asks me for more details about how it all happened and how we came to be where we are.

“I don’t know what to say other than we found and lost each other multiple times.”

He asks me to explain how two people can find and lose each other and I tell him we have had parallel orbits and I see a chance for intersection.

“Brother, I am a singer, not an astrophysicist. Just lay it out in simple terms.”

The conversation goes all night and into the next day but by the time we are done we have a plan and I know it can work.

Later on I wake up and wonder if I have watched too many romantic comedies and read too many books.

And as I walk down the hall to take care of my morning needs I hear Holly Holy and I know I may be crazy, but I am on the right path.

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

